Modern pentathlon at the 2020 Tokyo Games will comprise two medal events, one for men and one for women. The sport, as the name suggests, features five distinct disciplines, which are contested across four phases of competition in a single day, in the following order:


  1. Fencing (Epee)
  2. Swimming (200m Freestyle)
  3. Riding (Jumping)
  4. Shooting (20 targets) and Running (four 800m laps)


A men’s team event was contested from 1952-1992, with the United States winning three silver medals and a bronze. Individually, the last American man to climb an Olympic podium in modern pentathlon was Bob Beck (silver) at the 1960 Rome Games. The U.S. has one women’s medal: Emily Deriel’s silver from the 2000 Sydney Games, where the women’s event debuted.


More information:

Tokyo 2020 – Modern Pentathlon

World Pentathlon

USA Modern Pentathlon