Rugby at the 2020 Tokyo Games will feature a 12-team men’s tournament and a 12-team women’s tournament.


Traditional 15-a-side rugby was contested at the Olympics in 1900, 1908, 1920 and 1924. The sport returned to the Olympic program for the 2016 Rio Games with a 7-a-side version, a.k.a. “sevens,” featuring a more frenetic pace. A sevens match lasts 14 minutes (20 for the gold/bronze finals), with a two-minute break for halftime.


In rugby’s return for the 2016 Rio Games, Fiji defeated Great Britain in the men’s final, while Australia beat New Zealand to capture the first-ever Olympic gold in women’s rugby. South Africa and Canada earned the bronze medals, respectively.


More information:

Tokyo 2020 – Rugby

USA Rugby

World Rugby