Table tennis at the 2020 Tokyo Games will comprise five medal events:


  • Men’s Singles
  • Men’s Team
  • Women’s Singles
  • Women’s Team
  • Mixed Doubles


The singles format is single-elimination (knockout), with the semifinal winners playing for gold/silver and the semifinal losers playing for bronze. A team match consists of two singles matches, followed by a doubles match, followed, if necessary, by one or two singles matches, until a team wins three matches.
Mixed doubles is new to the program.


Tokyo will mark the ninth Olympic appearance for table tennis since the sport’s debut in 1988. China has dominated, winning 53 total medals (South Korea, with 18, sits a distant second in the all-time standings), including 28 of the 32 golds.


More information:

Tokyo 2020 – Table Tennis

USA Table Tennis

International Table Tennis Federation