Water polo at the 2020 Tokyo Games will feature a 12-team men’s tournament and a 10-team women’s tournament.


Competition begins with a preliminary round-robin phase from which teams advance to a single-elimination phase that determines the medalists.


Water polo debuted with a men’s competition at the 1900 Paris Games. Hungary leads the overall medal standings (15), with the United States second (14). Women’s water polo was first held at the 2000 Sydney Games, where host Australia defeated Team USA for gold on a controversial goal with 1.3 seconds left. The U.S. women will enter Tokyo as the two-time defending Olympic champs.

More information:

Tokyo 2020 – Water Polo

USA Water Polo

International federation