A total of 200 athletes will compete in equestrian in Tokyo: 75 riders in jumping, 60 riders in dressage and 65 riders in eventing. Each team may bring a maximum of three athletes and horses (not including traveling reserves).

The United States has teams qualified for team dressage, team jumping and team eventing and has also qualified riders for individual dressage, individual jumping and individual eventing.

The eventing team, which was revealed in May, was originally comprised of Phillip Dutton, Liz Halliday-Sharp and Boyd Martin. However, Doug Payne filled in for Halliday-Sharp as the third member of the eventing team in July. The dressage team, meanwhile, will include Adrienne Lyle, Steffen Peters and Sabine Schut-Kery.

The members of the jumping team, announced in July, are Jessica Springsteen, Kent Farrington and Laura Kraut with McLain Ward serving as the traveling reserve.