How many soccer teams will qualify for the 2024 Olympics?

There will be 16 teams in the men's tournament, divided into four groups of four teams each.

There will be 12 teams in the women's tournament, divided into three groups of four teams each.

How do the U.S. men’s and women’s women's soccer teams qualify for the Olympics?

Since the U.S. men's team is only allowed to take an under-23 (U23) roster to the Olympics, they had to book their ticket through the CONCACAF U20 Championship back in July 2022. The men's team defeated Honduras 3-0 in the decisive semifinal match to qualify for the Paris Games. This will be the first time the U.S. men's team has played in the Olympics since 2008. 

The U.S. women's team qualified for the Paris Olympics after winning the CONCACAF W Championship in July 2022, beating Canada 1-0 in the final. The U.S. women have qualified for every Olympics since 1996, when women's soccer was added to the Olympic program for the Atlanta Games.

What soccer teams have already qualified for Paris 2024?

Besides the U.S. men's and women's teams, other countries have also already qualified for the Paris Olympics. 

The following teams will play in the men's tournament this summer: 

  • France 
  • United States
  • Dominican Republic 
  • Spain 
  • Israel 
  • Ukraine
  • Morocco 
  • Egypt 
  • Mali
  • New Zealand
  • Paraguay 
  • Argentina

Four qualifying spots remain in the men's tournament, and those will be decided at the 2024 AFC U23 Asian Cup, which runs from April 15 through May 3, and the AFC-CAF playoff. An official date for the playoff match has not yet been announced. 

In the women's tournament, the following teams have qualified already: 

  • France 
  • United States
  • Canada 
  • Brazil 
  • Colombia 
  • New Zealand 
  • Spain 
  • Japan 
  • Australia 
  • Germany

Two spots are left up for grabs in the women's tournament that will be decided at the 2024 CAF Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament. Teams still with a chance of qualifying include Ghana, Zambia, Tunisia, Morocco, Cameroon, Nigeria, Tanzania and South Africa. The qualifying tournament is currently ongoing and will conclude on April 9.