The United States won the 2018 World Softball Championships, guaranteeing them a spot in the six-team Tokyo Olympics field. On October 6, 2019, USA Softball became the first U.S. national governing body to announce its entire roster of athletes for the Tokyo Olympics. Last May, USA Softball confirmed that, despite the Olympic postponement to 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the roster named in 2019 will indeed be the group that will compete in Tokyo.

The 15-player squad is:

Monica Abbott
Ali Aguilar
Valerie Arioto
Ally Carda
Amanda Chidester
Rachel Garcia
Haylie McCleney
Michelle Moultrie
Dejah Mulipola
Aubree Munro
Bubba Nickles
Cat Osterman
Janie Reed
Delaney Spaulding
Kelsey Stewart

The three alternates are:

Taylor Edwards 
Hannah Flippen
Keilani Ricketts

Team USA will compete against the other five qualified nations: Australia, Canada, Italy, Japan and ​​​​​Mexico.