Team USA

The results of the U.S. Olympic Team Trials in track and field, held June 18-27, 2021, at Hayward Field in Eugene, Oregon, largely determined Team USA's rosters for the Tokyo Games.

Provided each athlete had already met the Olympic standard, the top three athletes in each event secured a spot on the team. This process presents an all-or-nothing, dramatic close to the qualification period, and until then, the rosters are largely empty.

Two factions of Team USA's trials in track and field had already been completed in 2020: trials for the marathon were held prior to the COVID-19 pandemic declaration on Feb. 29, 2020, in Atlanta, and trials for the men's 50km walk were held about a month before that on Jan. 25, 2020, in Santee, California.

The following athletes have been named to the Olympic team:

Track Events

Men's 100m
Trayvon Bromell
Ronnie Baker
Fred Kerley
Kenny Bednarek — 4x100 relay
Micah Williams — 4x100 relay pool
Cravon Gillespie — 4x100 relay pool

Men's 200m
Noah Lyles
Kenny Bednarek
Erriyon Knighton

Men's 400m
Michael Norman
Michael Cherry
Randolph Ross
Trevor Stewart — 4x400 relay
Vernon Norwood — 4x400 relay pool
Elija Godwin — 4x400 relay pool
Bryce Deadmon — 4x400 mixed relay pool
Wil London — 4x400 mixed relay pool/alternate

Men's 800m
Clayton Murphy
Isaiah Jewett
Bryce Hoppel

Men's 1500m
Cole Hocker
Matthew Centrowitz
Yared Nuguse

Men's 5000m
Paul Chelimo
Grant Fisher
Woody Kincaid

Men's 10,000m
Woody Kincaid
Grant Fisher
Joe Klecker

Men's 110m Hurdles
Grant Holloway
Devon Allen
Daniel Roberts

Men's 400m Hurdles
Rai Benjamin
Kenny Selmon
David Kendziera

Men's Steeplechase
Hillary Bor
Benard Keter
Mason Ferlic

Women's 100m
Javianne Oliver
Teahna Daniels
Jenna Prandini
Gabby Thomas — 4x100 relay
English Gardner — 4x100 relay pool
Aleia Hobbs — 4x100 relay pool

Women's 200m
Gabby Thomas
Jenna Prandini
Anavia Battle

Women's 400m
Quanera Hayes
Allyson Felix
Wadeline Jonathas
Kendall Ellis — 4x400 relay
Kaylin Whitney — 4x400 relay pool
Lynna Irby — 4x400 relay pool
Taylor Manson — 4x400 mixed relay pool
Shae Anderson — 4x400 mixed relay pool/alternate

Women's 800m
Athing Mu
Raevyn Rogers
Ajee' Wilson

Women's 1500m
Elle Purrier St. Pierre
Cory McGee
Heather MacLean

Women's 5000m
Elise Cranny
Karissa Schweizer
Rachel Schneider

Women's 10,000m
Emily Sisson
Karissa Schweizer
Alicia Monson

Women’s 100m Hurdles
Keni Harrison
Christina Clemons
Gabbi Cunningham

Women's 400m Hurdles
Sydney McLaughlin
Dalilah Muhammad
Anna Cockrell

Women's Steeplechase
Emma Coburn
Courtney Frerichs
Val Constien

Field Events

Garrett Scantling
Steven Bastien
Zach Ziemek

Men's Discus
Mason Finley
Reggie Jagers
Sam Mattis

Men's Hammer
Rudy Winkler
Daniel Haugh
Alex Young

Men's High Jump
JuVaughn Harrison
Darryl Sullivan
Shelby McEwen

Men's Javelin
Curtis Thompson
Michael Shuey

Men's Long Jump
JuVaughn Harrison
Marquis Dendy
Steffin McCarter

Men's Pole Vault
Chris Nilsen
Sam Kendricks
KC Lightfoot

Men's Shot Put
Ryan Crouser
Joe Kovacs
Payton Otterdahl

Men's Triple Jump
Will Claye
Donald Scott
Chris Benard

Annie Kunz
Kendell Williams
Erica Bougard

Women's Discus
Valarie Allman
Rachel Dincoff
Kelsey Card

Women's Hammer
DeAnna Price
Brooke Andersen
Gwen Berry

Women's High Jump
Vashti Cunningham
Rachel McCoy
Tynita Butts-Townsend

Women's Javelin
Maggie Malone
Kara Winger
Ariana Ince

Women's Long Jump
Brittney Reese
Tara Davis
Quanesha Burks

Women's Pole Vault
Katie Nageotte
Morgann LeLeux
Sandi Morris

Women's Shot Put
Jessica Ramsey
Raven Saunders
Adelaide Aquilla

Women's Triple Jump
Keturah Orji
Tori Franklin
Jasmine Moore

Marathons & Race Walks

Men's Marathon
Galen Rupp
Jacob Riley
Abdi Abdirahman

Men's 20K Race Walk
Nick Christie

Women's Marathon
Aliphine Tuliamuk
Molly Seidel
Sally Kipyego

Women's 20K Race Walk
Robyn Stevens

Global qualification process

National Olympic Committees (NOCs) can enter up to three athletes in each event if all achieve the standard within the qualification period.

The NOCs are also allowed to enter a maximum of one qualified relay team per event, with a maximum of 16 quota places total per event. The top eight teams at the 2019 world championships in Doha, Qatar, secured a spot for their NOCs in Tokyo. The other eight are selected through either the 2021 world relays or world ranking system.

NOCs with no qualified athlete or relay team are allowed to enter their single best male and female athletes in one athletic event each, with the exception of the combined events, 10,000m and steeplechase.

Qualification relies heavily upon World Athletics' ranking system, new as of February 2019, versus just times for the Rio Olympics and prior Games. The rankings, as explained by the international governing body, are based on athletes' average scores over a certain number of competitions in a defined period of time, taking into account both the result itself and the place or competition in which it was produced.

Qualifying periods

Marathon and 50 km walk:

Jan. 1, 2019 to April 5, 2020
Dec. 1, 2020 to May 31, 2021

10,000m, 20 km walk, combined events:

Jan. 1, 2019 to April 5, 2020
Dec. 1, 2020 to June 29, 2021

All other events:

May 1, 2019 to April 5, 2020
Dec. 1, 2020 to June 29, 2021

Age requirements

All athletes must be born before Jan. 1, 2005.

Youth athletes born in or after 2003 can't compete in the throwing events, combined events, marathon, walks or 10,000m.

Junior athletes born in or after 2001 are not allowed to compete in the marathons or 50 km walk.