Taekwondo at the 2020 Tokyo Games will comprise eight medal events across four weight classes each for men and women:

  • Men’s 58kg
  • Men’s 68kg
  • Men’s 80kg
  • Men’s 80+kg
  • Women’s 49kg
  • Women’s 57kg
  • Women’s 67kg
  • Women’s 67+kg


Taekwondo, meaning “the way of the foot and fist,” is a Korean martial art that debuted as an Olympic sport at the 2000 Sydney Games. Fittingly, South Korea leads the all-time taekwondo medal standings with 19 total (12 gold, 2 silver, 5 bronze).


More information:

Tokyo 2020 – Taekwondo

USA Taekwondo

International federation