Twenty skateboarders each in men’s and women’s park and street will be in Tokyo. 

Skateboarders will qualify for the Tokyo Olympics based on their two best results in World Skate sanctioned events during the 2019 qualifying season (ended Sept. 30, 2019) combined with their four best results during the 2020 - 2021 qualifying season ending June 30.

The three highest placed in the 2021 Season World Skate World Skateboarding Championship events will be directly qualified. Sixteen will be qualified through the Olympic World Skateboarding Rankings and one host country place will be allocated to the highest-ranked Japanese skateboarders in each event, if not already otherwise qualified.

For Americans, the 2021 USA Skateboarding National Championships -- with finals scheduled for May 27-30 -- present a major qualifying opportunity.