The women's indoor volleyball pools are out, with the defending champions, the U.S., facing off against China in its pool (Pool A). 

Brazil, the reigning bronze medalists, will face a determined team Poland in Pool B, and the Dominican Republic will match up against Italy in Pool C. 

2024 Olympic indoor volleyball women's pool draw

Pool A

Pool B

Pool C




United States








Dominican Republic

The 2024 Olympic indoor volleyball tournament has a new competition format. For decades, each 12-team field was previously split into two pools of six, with each team playing five matches total in the pool phase. Starting this year for Paris, each 12-team field will be split into three pools of four, with each team playing only three matches total in the pool phase.

The competition begins with a preliminary round, in which each team plays the other three in its group once. This is also known as "round-robin" play. Teams receive three points for a 3-0 or 3-1 victory, two points for a 3-2 victory, or one point for a match lost 2-3. No points are awarded for games lost 0-3, 1-3 or by forfeit.

Upon conclusion of the preliminary round, the top-two teams from each pool and two best third-place teams qualify for the quarterfinals; the bottom four teams are out of medal contention. 

Indoor volleyball at the 2024 Olympic Games will take place at South Paris Arena 1. Play kicks off on Saturday, July 27, and will continue throughout the entire duration of the Games. The final gold medal match will be played on Sunday, August 11 at 7:00 a.m. ET.